The 2017 New Zealand Interschool Championships

Proudly sponsored by Orange Car Rentals - use the code 'chess' for a 10% discount.

These will be held in Christchurch on the 30th of September and 1st of October, and will be organised by the Canterbury Chess Club on behalf of the New Zealand Chess Federation. Formal competition rules are available in the NZCF Interschool Rules. There is a lot of information on this website, but please take the time to read through the interschool rules. Where the official rules contradict this website, the rules prevail.

National Finals Organiser and Chief Arbiter:
IA Craig Hall
Mobile: 021 1289543

Te Hapua: Halswell Centre, 341 Halswell Road, Christchurch 8025 - Link to the venue in Google Maps. The venue is a stunning community facility, with free off-street parking, a library (which offers free wi-fi), a cafe and a swimming pool, and a number of shops and a supermarket nearby.

Transport and Accommodation Information:
Some information on transport and accommodation options is available here.

Teams must qualify for the National Finals via their regional competitions to be eligible to enter - full lists of competitions and results are available on the NZCF website. Once your school has been notified by your regional organiser that you are eligible to enter (usually this will be in person at the end of the regional final, or by email after the event), you are welcome to officially enter your school at any time. There is no entry fee for teams, but teams are responsible for their own accommodation and travel costs and arrangements. Some advice and information on transport and accommodation options is available here.

To enter, please confirm your school's entry by email to the organiser, Craig Hall, ideally as soon as practical, but no later than September 1st to avoid a late entry fee, including contact details for the team manager/designated contact. A team list in board order (including 1 optional reserve) must also be provided, but can be sent separately to confirmation of entry - please ensure an indicative team list is provided by September 1st (changes can be emailed as necessary). Please note that teams must be accompanied by an adult. Late entries will be accepted after September 1st until September 22nd subject to a late fee of $40. Entries will not be accepted after September 22nd.

The National Finals are run as three separate divisions, Primary (years 1-6), Intermediate (years 7-8) and Secondary (years 9-13). Each division will be run over 7 rounds using Swiss pairings.

Time Control:
25 minutes plus 5 seconds increment per move using digital chess clocks.

Separate from entry procedure noted above, to ensure a timely start and avoid defaults, teams must register with the Chief Arbiter by 9:30am on the 30th of September. The venue will be open from 8:30am for registration in person. Teams may also register by email or text message on the day if circumstances dictate e.g. delayed flights. Teams not registered by 9:30am may not be paired in the first round.


Day One September 30
Registration: from 8:30am(approx)
Registration closes: 9:30am
Player's Meeting: 9:45am
Round One: 10:20am
Round Two: 11:30am
Lunch: After Round Two
Round Three: 1:30pm
Round Four: 2:40pm
Round Five: 3:50pm
Day Two: October 1
Round Six: 10:00am
Round Seven: 11:10am
Prizegiving: 12:30pm (approx)

Entries to Date:


Queenstown Primary School
Eastern Hutt Primary School
St Paul's Primary
Summerland Primary
Ilam Primary A
Ilam Primary B
Willow Park
Hillsborough Primary A
Hillsborough Primary B
Forrest Hill
King's School A
King's School B
Papatoetoe Central School
Hukanui School
West End School
Waimairi School


Bucklands Beach Intermediate
John McGlashan Intermediate
Masterton Intermediate
Rosehill Intermediate
Cobham Intermediate
Blockhouse Bay Intermediate
St Cuthbert's College
Mt Roskill Intermediate
Thorndon School Intermediate
Murray's Bays Intermediate
Takapuna Normal Intermediate School
Ao Tawhiti
Southwell School
Highlands Intermediate School
Hereworth School
Nelson College Preparatory
Monrad Intermediate


Auckland Grammar
Otago Boys HS
Wairarapa College
MacLeans College
Mt Roskill Grammar
Hamilton Boys' High School
King's College
Westlake Boys' High School
Auckland International College
James Hargest College
Burnside High School
4 Christchurch Boys' High School
New Plymouth Boys' High School
Whanganui High School
Napier Boys' High School
Nelson College
Wellington College