2018 South Island Championships, Rapid Championships and Lightning Championships, and All Canterbury Championship

Proudly sponsored by Benson Insurance Brokers Ltd.

Welcome to the 2018 South Island Championships! The South Island Championship is a Class 1 event in the Poison Pawn Grand Prix in Association with D & D Financial Consultants Ltd. Results of the completed events follow but for information about the South Island Championships, please scroll down or click here.

Full Vega pairings and results are available on the NZCF website in the Results Section. A summary of results is available below.

The South Island Champion and All Canterbury Champion is FM Stephen Lukey - congratulations!

The South Island Rapid Champion is CM Edward Rains. Edward tied for first with Clinton Wells, but as Clinton is from the North Island, Edward was awarded the title. Congratulations to both! Matthew McNabb was placed third, and Edward Sarfas won the U1800 grade prize, with Stephen Taylor, Robert Clarkson and Matthew Ashton tying for second in the U1800 grade.

The South Island Lightning Champion is Matthew McNabb - congratulations!

Tournament Organiser/Director of Play
For enquiries, please contact IA Craig Hall:
E-mail: canterbury@chess.org.nz
Mobile: (021) 1289-543 (NB: not available during round times as below - please email)

South Island Championships

First: FM Stephen Lukey (South Island and All Canterbury Champion
Second =: Nick Cummings and Clinton Wells

Under 2000 - 1st =: Federico Roura and Hamish Gold

Under 1700 - 1st =: Eva Lourenco, Bryce Lukey, Stephen Murdoch, Nigel Cooper

Upset Prize: Eva Lourenco