Tournaments for 2021

Tournament Information

All tournament games (including rapids and lightnings) will start at 7:45pm sharp - players who are running late and would like to be paired should notify the Director of Play no later than 7:30pm. This can be by email, Facebook, or texting 028 461 5698. Please note that this phone number is only for these notifications, not a general inquiry line.

Unless specified otherwise, Standard (long play) Time controls are 1 hour 15 minutes plus a 30 second increment from move 1, per player, per game. Rapid time controls are 25 minutes plus a 10 second increment from move 1, per player, per game. Lightning tournaments are 5 minutes per player, per game, and Grim Reapers 3 minutes plus a 2 second increment, per player, per game. All longplay and rapid events are NZCF-rated and players must be members to play (NZCF rules require players in more than 1 rated event per year to be members of a club).

All of our longplay and rapid tournaments are run as six round Swiss tournaments, with the sole exception of our Club Championships. The Club Champs are run over seven rounds, with the previous year's A & B Grade winners and the top six players by rating making up the A grade, or the top seven or eight players by rating if the previous year's A and/or B Grade winner does not enter, and the other players making up the B grade. The A grade is a Round Robin and the B grade is a Swiss. Entries to the round robin grades close the Wednesday prior to the first round. Please note that the Arie Nijman Trophy is for the Club Rapid Championship.

Results for the current year are below. Results from previous years can be found on our Results page. For specific tournament dates, please check our programme.

Arie Nijman Trophy - November-December
Link to Vega output.
Won by CM Edward Rains

Eric Browne Shield - July-August
Link to Vega output.
Won by Matthew McNabb

Gambit Tournament - June-July
Link to Vega output.
Won by Steven Hartwell and CM Edward Rains

Club Championships - April-May
Link to Vega output - A Grade.
Won by FM Stephen Lukey

Link to Vega output - B Grade.
Won by Jesse Barraza Perez.

Colthart Cup - March
Link to Vega output.
Won by CM Edward Rains.

Summer Rapid - February
Link to Vega output.
Won by FM Stephen Lukey and Matthew McNabb.

WJ Watson Trophy 2021

Final Standings:
Name Total Points
Matthew McNabb 20
CM Edward Rains 19
Artem Anikonov 7
Andrea Rivas Villanueva 6
George Aranui 5
Darryn Elliott 5
Kian Dharmasena 2
Jim Cater 2

There are 3 lightning tournaments scheduled in the 2021 programme (2 were lost due to Covid). Points are assigned according to the final standings of each tournament as follows: 1st - 10 points; 2nd - 6 points; 3rd - 4 points; 4th - 2 points (shared placings will share the points accordingly). The top 4 scores over the year for each player are used to make a player's total - the lowest score is noted in brackets next to that player's total (if no score is noted, that player has not been assigned points in 4 events). The Club Member with the most points at the end of the year will be awarded the W.J. Watson Trophy at prizegiving.