Tournaments for 2022

Tournament Information

All tournament games (including rapids and lightnings) will start at 7:30pm sharp - players who are running late and would like to be paired should notify the Director of Play no later than 7:15pm. This can be by email or Facebook (please message the club's Facebook page).

Unless specified otherwise, Standard (long play) Time controls are 1 hour 15 minutes plus a 30 second increment from move 1, per player, per game. Rapid time controls are 25 minutes plus a 10 second increment from move 1, per player, per game. Lightning tournaments are 5 minutes per player, per game, and Grim Reapers 3 minutes plus a 2 second increment, per player, per game. All longplay and rapid events are NZCF-rated and players must be full, life or junior members to play (NZCF rules require players in more than 1 rated event per year to be members of a club).

All of our longplay and rapid tournaments are run as six round Swiss tournaments, with the sole exception of our Club Championships. The Club Champs are run over seven rounds for the A Grade and eight rounds for the B Grade, with the 7th week being a catchup week for the A Grade, with the previous year's A & B Grade winners and the top six players by rating making up the A grade, or the top seven or eight players by rating if the previous year's A and/or B Grade winner does not enter, and the other players making up the B grade. The A grade is a Round Robin and the B grade is a Swiss. Entries to the round robin grades close the Wednesday prior to the first round. Please note that the Arie Nijman Trophy is for the Club Rapid Championship.

Results for the current year are below. Results from previous years can be found on our Results page. For specific tournament dates, please check our programme.

Summer Rapid - February
Link to Vega output.
Won by CM Edward Rains.

Lightning #1 23 February
Won by CM Edward Rains

Colthart Cup - March-April
Link to Vega output.
Won by CM Edward Rains.

Grim Reaper 20 April
Won by Artem Anikonov

Lightning #2 27 April
Won by Matthew McNabb

Arie Nijman Memorial 2022 - 13-15 May
Link to Vega Output

Club Championships - May-June
Link to Vega output - A Grade.
Won by FM Stephen Lukey

Link to Vega output - B Grade.
Won by Elena Moshakova and Guy Mulinder

Lightning #3 29 June
Won by Matthew McNabb and Craig Hall

Gambit Tournament - July
Link to Vega output.
Won by Matthew McNabb

Eric Browne Shield - August-September
Link to Vega output.
Won by CM Edward Rains

Lightning #4 21 September
Won by CM Edward Rains

Chas L Hart Cup - September-November
Link to Vega output.
Won by Matthew McNabb

Lightning #5 - 16 November
Won by Matthew McNabb

Arie Nijman Trophy - November-December
Link to Vega output.
Won by Matthew McNabb

WJ Watson Trophy 2022

Final Standings:
Name Total Points
Matthew McNabb 33
CM Edward Rains 26
Artem Anikonov 8
Craig Hall 8
Steven Hartwell 7
Connor Tunnicliffe 7
Adrian van der Krogt 7
Didi Xue 6
Cairon 4
David Evans 2
George Aranui 2

There are 5 lightning tournaments scheduled in the 2022 programme. Points are assigned according to the final standings of each tournament as follows: 1st - 10 points; 2nd - 6 points; 3rd - 4 points; 4th - 2 points (shared placings will share the points accordingly). The top 4 scores over the year for each player are used to make a player's total - the lowest score is noted in brackets next to that player's total (if no score is noted, that player has not been assigned points in 4 events). The Club Member with the most points at the end of the year will be awarded the W.J. Watson Trophy at prizegiving.